We are committed to not only thoroughly presenting the best case for our clients but also making sure their needs are met during their journey through the legal process.

Criminal Law

If you have been charged with a crime, you can find yourself in a complex system, unsure of where to turn. At Northwest Law, we are here to give you truly personalized representation, and guide you through every step of this process.

The first thing to be aware of is the type of criminal charge brought. In the state of Washington, crimes are categorized as either misdemeanors or felonies. Simple misdemeanors are the least serious criminal offenses and carry a maximum sentence of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. Gross misdemeanors are the next level of serious crimes and carry a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine.

Felonies are more serious crimes than misdemeanors, and they tend to carry harsher sentences. Felonies are divided into three different classes: Class A, Class B and Class C. Class C felonies carry a maximum sentence of five years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Class B felonies carry a maximum sentence of ten years in prison and a $25,000 fine. Class A felonies are the most serious crimes in this category and carry a maximum sentence of life in prison and a $50,000 fine.

We understand the stress and overwhelming emotions a criminal charge brings. Rest assured, we at Northwest Law are dedicated to resolving your case in the most efficient and reliable way possible. Most importantly, we believe attorney availability is the key to having good client relations. We have made it a pillar of our firm to let our clients know that they are in charge, we are available, and that we will communicate with them every step of the way.


If you have been stopped and or arrested for driving under the influence, the entire legal process can seem endless and complicated. Northwest Law will help you get the best possible result while providing you with quality guidance as we navigate through the court process together.

A DUI occurs when a driver operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In regard to alcohol and marijuana, a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher or a THC (marijuana) concentration of 5.00 ng/ml or higher are categorized as over the legal
limit and are considered violations of Washington Law.

If charged with DUI, the charge may be categorized as either a misdemeanor or a felony. The classification of the crime will depend on one’s criminal history. For example, A first-time DUI in Washington State is normally charged as a gross misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine. In any case where a conviction is entered, a mandatory minimum sentence must be imposed. A judge is required to impose a minimum sentence and is not permitted to reduce it. Regardless of how the charge is classified, hiring diligent and dedicated legal counsel is highly recommended.

Northwest Law is dedicated to resolving your case in the most efficient and reliable way possible.

Top DUI Lawyer in Spokane

Firearms Restoration

In Washington State, anyone who has been convicted of a felony or any crime of domestic violence is ineligible to possess a firearm, we are here to fight for you to get your rights back.

Once prohibited from possessing a firearm, an individual cannot possess any firearm for any reason whatsoever. Washington law has no exceptions for target shooting, temporary custody, or collectible guns. Unlawful possession of a firearm is a felony under Washington law. This ban is in effect for life unless the right is restored by a court of record (typically the Superior Court where the individual resides).

With this in mind, eligibility for firearms restoration depends upon: (1) the nature and severity of the underlying conviction; and (2) the length of time you have been crime free since conviction or release from custody. The underlying conviction is the conviction which resulted in revocation of the gun rights. Restoration is not legally possible until the individual has completed a specified period of time in which they are crime free. That is, they cannot be convicted of ANY criminal offense during that period of time. For eligible felonies (Non-Class A felonies), the individual must go at least five years without any criminal offenses. For misdemeanors like Assault in the Fourth Degree (Domestic Violence) the period is three years.

Based upon this information, if you think you may be eligible, please reach out and we will assist you in every way possible.

Protection Orders

Commonly referred to as a restraining order, a protection order is designed to protect vulnerable individuals from unwanted violence or harassment. Protection orders are put in place to prevent contact between two people. Contact may involve physical or personal contact, phone or text contact, email or social media contact, or communication through a third party. In many cases, protection orders also involve remaining a certain distance away from someone’s home, school, or place of employment.

It is important to be aware of the different types of protection orders that are available in the event that you are ever in a position where you either need to seek one or must defend against one brought by another party. Domestic Violence, sexual assault, anti-harassment, vulnerable adult, stalking and so all have their own separate filing processes when seeking a protection order. The Legislature’s aim in enacting this process was to make it easier for vulnerable individuals to seek aid from the government from unwanted violence. However, the process can still be daunting, will multiple avenues by which a person in need could find roadblocks along the process. At Northwest Law, we aim to hold your hand through the process, handling all the necessary filing and preparing the best case to present on your behalf.

Family Law

Whether it’s a divorce, parenting plan, or custody battle we can fight to help you get the results that best serve your family.